March 28, 2024, 07:10:18 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Electronics PCB prototype manufacture with chemicals  (Read 18107 times)

Offline t_maggot

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Electronics PCB prototype manufacture with chemicals
« on: November 01, 2007, 03:32:26 PM »
I am an electronic engineer and have no chemical knowledge. But I use chemicals in the lab for prototyping PCB's (Printed Circuit Boards). I want to know the reactions take place there and what is produced from them to take care of safety and waste maintenance. Let me describe the process:

First, a prototype PCB consist of 3 layers:
1.The "FR4" (plastic οr something??)
2.The copper
3.The Photosensitive layer(??)

After exposure of the photosensitive layer (with a mask) the PCB is placed in sodium hydroxide NaOH (caustic soda) solution with water (about a small spoon of soda in ~300ml) and the exposed layer segment is "destroyed" revealing the cooper. I don't know to describe this reaction because I don't know of what is the photosensitive layer. But the "destroyed" layer takes a dark color before "disappeared".

Next, the PCB is placed in a solution of Hydrochloric acid HCl  and Hydrogen Peroxide H2O2 .The solution is 500ml of  15% HCl solution and ~50-80ml of 35%  H2O2 solution. In this phase the cooper is "destroyed" from the solution, the solution is heated producing some gas and in a few minutes (or seconds) the desired segments of cooper are disappeared, and the solution has take a blue-green color.

So I have the questions what is the gases produced in the reactions and what remain after the reactions. And if i mix in the end the remainders of sodium hydroxide solutions and Hydrochloric acid solutions what hapens? Is there a problem? In general I want to know if toxic products may released from all this process.

To summarize :

HCL + H2O2 + Cu -> X ?
X + NaOH  -> Y ?