April 25, 2024, 03:53:05 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: First lab, am i typing it correctly?  (Read 8986 times)

runnerup

First lab, am i typing it correctly?
« on: February 04, 2005, 10:11:22 PM »
Hello, This is my first time posting something here. I think I will be here for a while as I may need help with chemistry. This is my first lab and I was wondering if I am typing it correctly.

Thank you,

Chemistry 40          
Separation of a Mixture                  January 26th 2005

Purpose:
? To separate a solid mixture of naphthalene C10H8, common table salt (NaCl) and sand (SiO2)
Procedure:
   ? Heat the mixture to sublime the naphthalene.
   ? Dissolve the salt in water to extract it.
   ? Filter the mixture to separate.
   ? Evaporate the water to recover the salt and the sand.
Materials:
Naphthalene C10H8, common table salt (NaCl) and sand (SiO2) mixture, ice,  beakers (3), evaporating dish, wire gauze with an iron ring and ring stand assembly, Bunsen burner, filter paper, rubber policeman, boiling chips, and a glass rod.
Data:
1.   Mass of beaker 1                  69.420g
2.   Mass of beaker 1 & mixture               71.425g
      Mass of mixture               2.005g
3.   Mass of beaker 1 & solid after sublimation         71.354g
      Mass of naphthalene(s)            0.071g
4.   Mass of beaker 2                  62.825g
5.   Mass of beaker 2 & NaCl(s)               63.857g
      Mass of NaCl(s)               1.012g
6.   Mass of beaker 3                  63.907g
7.   Mass of beaker 3 & sand               64.717g
      Mass of sand                  .81g

Calculations:
1.   Mass of the solids recovered               1.893g
2.   Percentage yield = (mass of solids recovered/mass of recovered mixture) x 100
   1.893 / 2.005 = 0.94413965 x 100 = 94.41396509
   94.41%
3.   Mass % of naphthalene =
   0.071 / 1.893 = 0.037506603 x 100 = 3.750660328
   3.751%
4.   Mass % of NaCl =
   1.012 / 1.893 = 0.534601162 x 100 = 53.46011622
   53.46%