April 28, 2024, 05:44:21 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Determining quantity of a compound by IR spectroscopy  (Read 5732 times)

Offline smellor

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Determining quantity of a compound by IR spectroscopy
« on: November 18, 2007, 04:35:30 PM »
this may seem a silly question, but after poring through all my books and searching on the internet i have been unable to find any information relating to this. my question is, does IR spectroscopy in any way quantify concentrations or relative amounts of a compound in a sample? In different IR spectra slight variations can be seen in terms of baseline transmission, and I was wondering if this reflects the quantity/concentration of sample used
My personal assumption would be that IR provides no such information, but as i'm still new to the technique I would like to hear opinions of people more knowledgeable than me!
Looking forward to getting this cleared, thanks for reading!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Determining quantity of a compound by IR spectroscopy
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2007, 05:07:23 PM »
In all spectroscopic methods signal intensity is directly proportional to substance concentration (at least for some range of concentrations). IR is no exclusion.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline ARGOS++

• Mole Snacks: +199/-56
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2007, 05:39:48 PM »

Dear Smellor;

IR is quite common to measure Gas Concentrations whereat Cuvettes of several times one Meter are not rare.
In (special) solutions (liquids) most time you have more or less a problem with the pathlength of the “cuvette” you (should) use.
That’s why most prefer for quantitative measurements more the NIR region, but there you have the problem of calibration, which is mostly done with “Chemometrics”.