April 19, 2024, 06:47:10 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Specific heat capacity question  (Read 25961 times)

Offline Tflarr

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Specific heat capacity question
« on: November 19, 2007, 10:42:46 AM »
Hi, I'm kind of new to this so I hope someone can help me. This is my problem:
I'm doing some tests on enthalpy and I'm at the point of doing the calculations but I have no idea what specific heat capacity I have to use.
I have used 1M HCl, 2M HCl and conc HCl in a reaction with coper (II) carbonate.
Some people have told me that I just need to use the general heat capacity of water for all of my calculations but further research has shown that the specific heat capacities of the solution used are needed?
I really need to know what to do and if I do need to use the specific heat capacity of HCl can someone tell me what they are for the 1M, 2M and conc please?

Many thanks in advance  :)

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
Re: Specific heat capacity question
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2007, 10:55:43 AM »
I would see that if through your schools library you have access to an Online Journal Subscription Service (This is fairly common actually, just ask a Library worker). And then see if you can get access to this Journal (I am not at school right now, so I do not have access to the full article either):
http://www.springerlink.com/content/l1196557656607j5/

I am surprised your professor did not tell you how to handle this situation? In truth, in general for basic stuff most people do just use that of water. But if you equipment is really good, doing such can introduce a lot of error.