March 28, 2024, 04:02:28 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: CO2 Question - Im a noob!  (Read 4579 times)

Offline pom

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
CO2 Question - Im a noob!
« on: November 28, 2007, 04:56:45 AM »
Hello All )

Firstly let me give some background. I've been making bio-diesel from waste and new veg oil for a while now as its considerable cheaper than fossil diesel and better for the environment. Recently there has been research into farming Algae for its oil which really is a winwin as it consumes lots of CO2. Now for the rub.

For a home user with a couple hundred gallon Algae growth tank, how in a cost efficient manner can CO2 in ther air be extracted for pumping through the algae tank ? A system that runs 24/7 and consumes as little energey as possible is preferred.

I'm sure you boffins have a method us bio-diesel makers can adapt.

many thanks

pom

Offline lost and found

• Mole Snacks: +2/-3
Re: CO2 Question - Im a noob!
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2007, 03:54:06 PM »
CO2 and other gases are seperated from air by liquifying it. Each gas will boil off at a specific temperature. This is not practical at all for getting CO2 at home. Most CO2 is produced commercially by the decomposition of calcium carbonate at ~800 Celsius.

CaCO3 --> CaO + CO2

You may be able to set up a burner that will produce CO2. Burning any carbon-based substance (alcohol, gasoline, wood, leaves, coal, etc.) will convert O2 to mostly CO2 and H2O.

MB

Offline ATMyller

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +31/-6
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2007, 03:52:37 AM »
Burning fossile to make CO2 for algae plantation kind of negates the enviromental effect. If you have a some CO2 source that is on most of the time (e.g. oil burner heating a house) you can direct the exhaust gases in to the algae tank after scrubbing off harmful compounds like SO2 with soda ash or lime scrubber.