March 29, 2024, 02:39:16 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Ethinylestradiol and agar, biology researcher in need of a chemist  (Read 5847 times)

Offline tyro89

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello,

Like the subject of this post suggests I’m a researcher conducting microbiology research. At one moment today I tried to create a solution to use as a base for Petri dishes. This mix was hot liquid agar with water and ethinylestradiol dissolved in methanol.

The expected reaction of this mix was, well, nothing. What happened was quiet the opposite. When the methanol/ethinylestradiol solution entered the liquid hot agar 1/2 to 3/4 of the agar was solidified and turned milky white. This is very confusing to me. I repeated the mix and obtained the same results.

It might be important to note the volumes; the mix is consisting of 2g of ethinylestradiol/L of agar with water.

I know it is not the methanol that reacts since I made a mix of methanol and liquid agar with water successfully.

If anyone have any idea or know what is going on I would be very grateful to learn what is going on in my mix and most important, if the estrogen is consumed and hence the mix useless.

Thanks a lot for your time  :)

Offline agrobert

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +69/-17
  • diels alder
Re: Ethinylestradiol and agar, biology researcher in need of a chemist
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 08:30:39 PM »
What  I think is happening is that your agar solution is saturated and the concentrated ethinylestradiol is crashing out as an oil/solid when poured.  Nothing should be discarded as I do not see any possibility of ethinylestradiol being "consumed" or degraded but you need to figure out a system with better solubility.
In the realm of scientific observation, luck is only granted to those who are prepared. -Louis Pasteur

Offline tyro89

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2008, 08:33:58 PM »