April 19, 2024, 06:14:02 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: MgSO4 Hydration Lab Question  (Read 12178 times)

Offline kleiss

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
MgSO4 Hydration Lab Question
« on: January 09, 2008, 12:40:34 AM »
Hi,
I am a Bio Teacher that is teaching Chem this semester.  I have to practice certain labs for the performance based assessment (PBA) for the class. I was looking at doing the Magnesium Sulfate hydration lab. What is the purpose of putting the heated crucible of MgSO4 in a desiccator as opposed to letting the crucible cool on the triangle before taking the mass?  I have one, but it is old and very small. It would be somewhat difficult for 16 crucibles to fit in there without getting broke.
Thanks for the help
kleiss

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re: MgSO4 Hydration Lab Question
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 01:21:58 AM »
What is the purpose of putting the heated crucible of MgSO4 in a desiccator as opposed to letting the crucible cool on the triangle before taking the mass?  I have one, but it is old and very small. It would be somewhat difficult for 16 crucibles to fit in there without getting broke.
Anhydrous MgSO4 is used as dessicant.
 Why not put a half of crucibles into  a dessicator and compare results?
AWK

Offline kleiss

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2008, 12:20:56 AM »
Thanks for the idea!  The dessicator is fairly old. I don't think it has a vaccum seal in it and I think it has some old Calcium chloride in the bottom which needs replacing. What other chemicals can I use in the bottom? Would these factors really make a significant difference in the masses?  The kids did it today and they got fairly consistent results with 2 heatings with letting it cool on a ceramic tile.  But, they haven't yet calculated the percent error of the lab. But, anytime they can light a fire, they like it.  I appreciate the help. Thanks. :)
kjkleiss

Offline Alpha-Omega

• Mole Snacks: +360/-231
  • Physical Inorganic Chemist