March 28, 2024, 11:08:25 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Organic Lab routine  (Read 3946 times)

Offline atomic_TU

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Organic Lab routine
« on: December 31, 2007, 03:28:40 AM »
Today, I feel tired. Even, new year eve, I'm still working.
I wonder what grad student in the other school working for their research.
I'm a graduate student of an university in Texas.
The policy of my group is all students have to work 6 days a week with 60 hours at lease. Only three week for holiday including thanksgiving, christmas, new year and all public holiday that mean whatever the day you take off from lab it counts. Subgroup meeting every two week, alternates with biweekly report and research presentation every semester including summer.

What do think about my routine? Is it normal for synthetic chem grad student? And how about your routine? please share you idea...Thanks     

Offline macman104

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +168/-26
Re: Organic Lab routine
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2007, 05:43:07 AM »
I would love to hear people's comments on this.  I am currently an undergraduate but I am, as of now planning to go to grad school.  This is one aspect that has me a little "nervous".

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2007, 07:13:12 AM »
The schedule quoted is not at all uncommon for a professional working in an R&D or QC laboratory, a fact that many of my friends who are blue collar laborers find absolutely shocking.  Furthermore, I have always been an exempt employee, meaning I am exempt from Federal and State laws regarding overtime pay.  Therefore, I don't get any, even if I'm required to work overtime.  As I've related to many people at work before, science is a harsh mistress.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline glycogrl07

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2008, 11:30:04 PM »