March 28, 2024, 09:30:12 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Interaction of pyrophosphate and metal ions  (Read 8988 times)

Offline jkorn

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Interaction of pyrophosphate and metal ions
« on: February 06, 2008, 09:05:02 AM »
I recently  done  a conducumetric titration to investigate the interaction between metal ions and pyrophosphate once i plotted my graphs for  all  four  metal salts theres a clear trend,  a decrease until a certain point and then infinite increase. but what i cant wrap my head around at the moment is the decrease? i know im going to kick myself here, little help please?

Offline jkorn

Re: Interaction of pyrophosphate and metal ions
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2008, 10:26:45 PM »
no ideas?

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2008, 10:41:50 PM »
I have no specific knowledge, but I'm intrigued enough by the topic.  What else can you tell us about your experiments.  For starters, conducumetric, is that a typo?  Because Googleing for it only gives me this forum.  What metal ions, and what pyrophosphate salt do you use?  And the brand and model of instrument?
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2008, 04:41:32 AM »
Decrease means ions 'dissapear' from the solution. To do so they must react - complexation, neutralization, precipitation are best bets.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline jkorn

« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2008, 09:17:13 AM »
well ive been thinking the pyrophosphate (sodium pyrophosphate) forms complexes with ions hence decreases the conductance and once it is saturated the conductance will obviously rise with the metal ion being added.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH