April 25, 2024, 01:42:59 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Organic Chemistry Degree  (Read 7479 times)

Offline Zugg

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Organic Chemistry Degree
« on: February 14, 2008, 04:22:47 PM »
Hello, all. This is my first post here, so I guess a HI! is in order! It's nice to meet you all! I got some plans, and I'm hoping you have answers  :P

I would like to obtain a degree in Organic Chemistry. I've been reading a lot about it online for the last couple of years, and finally decided I'll try to make a career out of it. I was just wanting your advice on where to start. First off, I went to homeschool, so I have a "diploma", but I didn't get to learn things I should have, like chemistry and even algebra (I have a basic understanding: variables, inequalities, etc, that's about it). So, I know I'd have to take all my core classes again. I can do this pretty much anywhere and it won't make a difference right? Well, when I'm done with them, I'd like to know your opinions on what schools to go to (I live in Nashville, TN). Keep in mind that UPS (my employer) is giving me tuition assistance of $1,500/semester. I can not afford much more than maybe $2000/semester myself, and my parents would probably kick in a couple hundred if they can. I can pick up a third job if need be, but please, I don't need a college that goes for $10k a semester. I would prefer a college in my area (Nashville), but if it's around a major city, UPS may relocate me for schooling. So that's my question: What's a good school? Where did you all go? What were some pros and cons of your school? Where the teachers knowledgeable? Did they show students respect, or patronize them? How has your life after college been? A struggle? Or comfortable? How easy was it for you to find a job?

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I hope you respond!

EDIT: Didn't notice the "Organic Chemistry Forum for Graduate Students and Professionals" board. Sorry if this should be there!