April 25, 2024, 07:10:18 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What do you expect from a org. chemistry graduate?  (Read 9919 times)

Offline sundberg

• Mole Snacks: +5/-0
  • I'm a mole!
What do you expect from a org. chemistry graduate?
« on: February 07, 2006, 10:40:28 AM »
Hi!
I'm a third year student at a european university, majoring in Organic Chemistry.
I have so far passed all my exams (but far from perfectly), but sometimes I feel rather unsecure on my knowledge.
I know I'm decently intelligent, I have an easy time of learning stuff but what I learnt one year ago just doesn't stick around today (which I guess is rather normal). I will either graduate with a B.S or Master of Science, haven't decided yet. I know that there is alot of phD student and professors around here. What sort of knowledge do you expect from newly graduated students, and what kind of knowledge have other people expected you to have?

There are alot knowledge I once knew, but now is gone, that I feel that I should really know. For example, if someone would just out of the blue ask me to describe Fischer esterification I would probably not have been able to do it more than _very_ briefly (and maybe not fully correct) since it was over a year ago since I studied it. At the same time I would have absolutely no problems in reading about it in 5 minutes, understanding the exact mechanism and then describe it to someone who doesn't know it. So, is it of most importance to have the background and be able to integrate and understand basic theory or am I a bit lost who just doesn't have all that knowledge avaible in my head? It feel kind of strange to be able to now discuss and understand much more advanced theoretical aspects of organic chemistry, while much of the basic stuff is faar back in the head. ???

(I hope you understood what I meant)

Offline movies

• Organic Minion
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-21
  • Better living through chemistry!