April 28, 2024, 01:58:57 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Spectrophotometry for aqueous solutions  (Read 7539 times)

Offline marauder

• Mole Snacks: +1/-3
Spectrophotometry for aqueous solutions
« on: February 20, 2008, 07:33:16 PM »
I'm trying to figure out a way to analyse my aquarium water for Ca content in an automated, continuous way.  First concept is using Spectrophotometry.  Its been years since I studied chem, so I was hoping someone could help me out.

Would it be possible to determine the concentration of these species by shining light through a sample taken directly from the aquarium, without adding indicators, or using a flame?  I guess what I really want to know is if Ca++ ions in solution would absorb light in the same way as ions that are passed through a flame.

I am looking for a Ca concentration in the vicinity of 450 ppm +- 50 ppm.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Spectrophotometry for aqueous solutions
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 07:37:26 PM »
No, Ca2+ doesn't absorb in the visible or UV wavelengths usually used in a spectrophotometer.  You'll have to Google around for the indicators you might want to use.  You'll also find out if you can have the sensitivity and precision you need, but your numbers look a little tough for spectroscopy to me.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline marauder

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2008, 07:53:01 PM »
Wow... fast response.  Thanks for the input.

Back to the drawing board.

Offline ARGOS++

• Mole Snacks: +199/-56
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2008, 07:54:34 PM »

Dear Marauder;

From  <200 nm till the IR it should not absorb at all.
The only Reagent for Ca2+ in the analytical sense I remember on the fly is :  "Murexide”.

But of course, it is not a real solution for continuously automated monitoring.
Maybe something could be possible with measuring a potential or so.

Good Luck!
                    ARGOS++