March 28, 2024, 04:27:44 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Mineral Fuel Colors  (Read 4456 times)

Offline gyzhor

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Mineral Fuel Colors
« on: January 11, 2008, 02:13:17 AM »
Hello forum-goers,

I'm a writer looking for help on chemicals with certain properties.
I'd like to know if there are minerals or other naturally occurring chemicals (please pardon my unfamiliarity with specific chemistry terminology) that are:

• Solid
  • Red, White or Green
  • highly flammable
  • able to sustain or fuel a flame

Thus far from my own research I think I can use Red Phosphorus for red and Magnesium for white (though, unless I'm mistaken, magnesium is only white when powdered and silvery when a solid piece. Is that correct?).
I'm having trouble with green, though.

Early on in my research I though I could use copper with a fine layer of patina, but wasn't sure if it met the "able to sustain/fuel a fire" criterion.
Then someone told me that some forms of naturally occurring sulfur can be green if they have a mineral inclusion (though I've yet to find a suitable example online). 

What kind of inclusion could make sulfur green, yet still allow it to burn?  Clay?  Graphite?  How hot would it burn?

I'm also open to suggestions of other chemicals of like properties with different colors, if you know of any.   ;D

Thanks!
~gyz

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Mineral Fuel Colors
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2008, 03:57:23 AM »
Apart from mined fuels and elementar sulfur most other naturally occuring minerals are already oxidized, so they will be not able to burn. Magnesium and phosphorus are chemically very active, they have to be produced and they will not survive in in the presence of air and water for long.