April 19, 2024, 06:56:03 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Are my peaks completely resolved?  (Read 9861 times)

Offline redskytonight820

• Mole Snacks: +6/-3
Are my peaks completely resolved?
« on: March 08, 2008, 12:43:24 AM »
Hey all, this is my first post. I'm currently conducting an experiment, and I'm trying to figure out whether or not my products are what they are... but I'm new to HPLC, and so, I don't really know if my peaks are completely resolved.

I'm using a phenomenex column (50 m) w/ an I.D. of 0.20 mm. Flow rate = 1 ml/min. So far, the two peaks, correspond to two compounds: Mercapto-ethanol and aniline. k' (mercapto ethanol) = 2.0, k' (aniline) = 4.5. So the peak area of the aniline peak (from the digital analysis) is 35891 mV x sec and the peak height is 3851 mV.

So... I have no idea if these peaks are completely resolved. I tried calculating resolution:

retention time = (column length / (flow rate * (1+k') ) )

N = (retention time / peak area / height) 5.545

resolution = ((sqrt N) / 2) (k'a-k'b / (k'a+k'b+2))

and so... from the calculated resolution, how can i determine if my peaks are completely resolved?

Offline Telamond

• Mole Snacks: +6/-0
Re: Are my peaks completely resolved?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2008, 04:35:59 AM »
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe the resolution is calculated through:

R = [tR(x) - tR(y)] / ([Wb(x) + Wb(y)]/2)

tR(x) = retention time for analyte X
tR(y) = retention time for analyte Y
Wb(x) =base width of analyte X
Wb(y) =base width of analyte Y
And if your peaks are completely resolved then R > 1,5.

Might need confirmation from someone who's passed the first course. :P I have my exams in 14 days. :S

Offline redskytonight820

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2008, 12:42:28 PM »
There are several equations for Rs.

Well anyway, if Rs > 1.5, then my peaks are resolved? That's good to know! My resolution came out around 6 something.