April 19, 2024, 09:56:44 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Suggestions for cool but relatively unknown chemical elements  (Read 9374 times)

Offline MrOHBrown

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Hello!

I would like to write an article ""Ten awesome chemical elements that you've probably never heard of" - The trouble is, being a chemist myself, I am struggling to be objective enough to decide what the casual reader would find awesome, plus, I just don't know that much about ALL the elements.

Transuranic suggestions are fine but it really needs to be something they've made a tangible solid/liquid/gas with that you can actually do something with.

If you have any good suggestions then please let me know!

Suggestions so far: Tc, V, Mo
« Last Edit: March 25, 2008, 05:24:41 AM by MrOHBrown »
Cause we are all made of stars...

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Suggestions for cool but relatively unknown chemical elements
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2008, 09:03:56 PM »
Well, I always thought it was pretty bizarre that Technetium, Tc, could be added to steel alloys to toughen them.  I have to wonder about the particular application, "rough, tough, and keep away from children and pregnant women"
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2008, 09:42:55 PM »
Maybe Vanadium? I do not recall ever hearing of that before I got into Chemistry; and it is a very important and useful element.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2008, 10:11:36 PM »