April 19, 2024, 07:05:58 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Refining Ag From AgNO3 solution  (Read 4628 times)

Offline MrOHBrown

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Refining Ag From AgNO3 solution
« on: March 28, 2008, 07:55:07 PM »
Hey guys,

I am a chemistry teacher but haven't had my own lab until this year, therefore a lot of years went by without me tinkering, but on the up-side I have been doing a lot of my own experiments on the side now that I can. The kids really enjoy it, not the least of which was the shiny silvery substance I produced by adding a Cu electrode to 0.1 M AgNO3 solution.

I want to be able to refine this further. Greyish-black by-products have formed which I put down to unavoidable oxides and other inpurities caused by a not-quite 100% clean Cu electrode. I placed the silver/solids in a test tube under vacuum and heated it hoping to decompose the compunds but with no luck.

Does anyone know what these substances are and how I may seperate them from silver? Decanting? Flotation? I'd try myself but I have already used enough silver solution that I wanna avoid trial and error at this time.

Also, the silver is in tiny little spikes, which should be easy to melt. I tried to heat it under vacuum (to avoiding burning) so that it would melt into a solid, but this caused the TT to warp so I had to abort.

Can anyone suggest how I may, once impurities are removed, turn the silver flecks into one solid mass?

My students ask "Can you make money that way" - Yes, but I'd lose more in the process! Ha ha
Cause we are all made of stars...

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Refining Ag From AgNO3 solution
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2008, 08:04:23 PM »
Greyish-black by-products have formed which I put down to unavoidable oxides and other inpurities caused by a not-quite 100% clean Cu electrode. I placed the silver/solids in a test tube under vacuum and heated it hoping to decompose the compunds but with no luck.