April 23, 2024, 05:25:04 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Is there a way to automatically ID peaks of interest? (LC/ESI/MS)  (Read 6587 times)

Offline GoBlue

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello, all,

I've just found this forum and am hoping that someone can help me out.  I'm new to mass spec, and am attempting to identify an adduct of compound X and an amino acid.  Compound X is generated by live cells and secreted, where it binds to extracellular protein.

I expose the cells to a mixture of d0-substrate, d8-substrate, and trace amounts of 14C-substrate.  By collecting the supernatant, precipitating the proteins, digesting the proteins, and then purifying on a Sep-Pak tC18 cartridge, I think I'm enriching my sample w/ the X-amino acid adduct (well, at least I have 14C eluting under conditions that I would expect it to elute during purification).

When the resulting product is subjected to LC/ESI/MS (Full Scan, + ion mode), I'm hoping to find ions with m/z, (perhaps m/z+2), and m/z+8(?) that co-chromatograph....and then I'll work from there.  I put a (?) after 8 because it's entirely possible that I lose 1, 2, or 3 deuterium atoms when the adduct is formed.

Doing this manually is becoming quite tiresome, and I'm hoping there is an easier way.  I've basically been scanning each minute of the run (approx 12 min LC/MS run of analyzable data) at a time (in QualBrowser), looking for ions that are appropriately spaced.  I then look at the chromatographs of the ions to see if the "d0" and "d8" possibilities actually do co-chromatograph.  I haven't gotten lucky so far.

I'm wondering if there is software available -- freeware would be nice :) -- that would be able to automate at least SOME of this for me...perhaps find peaks separated by X mass units w/ the appropriate ratio?  I could then look at the chromatographs manually....

Any help would be much appreciated!
Jim

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147