April 19, 2024, 10:10:57 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Solid State/Liquid and Polymer Membrane Electrodes  (Read 5498 times)

Offline nexisrocks

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Solid State/Liquid and Polymer Membrane Electrodes
« on: April 11, 2008, 10:28:54 PM »
I'm studying, and have a few questions...

The specific solid state electrode I'm studying is the fluoride ion-selective electrode, LaF3 doped with EuF2.  I know that the EuF2 leaves holes in the lattice of the crystal, which F- can come in and fill.

So... F- moves through the 'holes' in the crystal, causing a small current.  Is it just that, for higher concentrations of F-, more F- goes into the crystal and moves, and thus there is a greater current?  (So that there would be a small current even with a blank, because of the internal reference solution).

And why exactly is the internal reference solution there?  Is it to give a concentration gradient across the membrane (but if that's the case, I'm not sure why you would need it, because if there was no F- then there would still be a concentration gradient).

Or is it just that the F- goes into the membrane and helps create a build-up of charge on each side of the membrane, which leads to a boundary potential?

For the Liquid and Polymer Membrane electrode, is it just that the ion-exchanger exchanges with the ions in solution (where it exchanges more in higher concentrations), which gives a boundary potential?  And do we have the reservoir of ion exchanger in organic solvent to replenish the porous plastic disk?

Thanks!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Solid State/Liquid and Polymer Membrane Electrodes
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2008, 05:12:23 AM »
I doubt F- diffuses through the crystal, it rather adsorbs in the holes on the surface, creating potential difference. Amount adsorbed depends on the concentration.