April 16, 2024, 10:39:33 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: 342 ppm NaCl solution  (Read 16860 times)

Offline Jeff1

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
342 ppm NaCl solution
« on: April 22, 2008, 10:54:05 AM »
Hi to all members.
I'm new to the forum and the world of chemistry.
Now this is going to be the most weirdest post you people have ever had on this forum, so please bare with me.

By Trade I'm a window Cleaner, not the type that climbs ladders as H&S is slowly putting more and more restrictions on ladder users, so now many window cleaners are changing to use the telescopic pole method where pure water is pumped up to the brush, the windows and frames are washed and left to dry naturally as you know the water contains no impurity's so doesn't dry spotty.

We produce are own pure water from tap water with reverse osmosis and deionised resin to bring the TDS reading down to 000tds, we use TDS meters to check the water.

I have just found out that we need to recalibrate our meters at least once a week with 342 ppm Na Cl solution, although this solution is available commercially at £5 per bottle, the bottle being the size of an egg cup.
I would love to make my own so this is my reason for posting on your forum.
Can any one tell me in plain English (don't forget I'm a window cleaner lol) Can I make this solution and at 342 ppm  from items easily available.

Thank you in advance for all your kind help and for being gentle with me Lol
« Last Edit: April 22, 2008, 11:07:17 AM by Jeff1 »

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re: 342 ppm NaCl solution
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2008, 10:59:27 AM »
Dissolve 342 miligrams of pure NaCl in 1 liter of distilled water.

You use also 343 ppm in your post?
AWK

Offline Jeff1

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2008, 11:09:52 AM »
Dissolve 342 miligrams of pure NaCl in 1 liter of distilled water.

You use also 343 ppm in your post?
Thank you AWK for a speedy reply