March 29, 2024, 07:22:13 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Inductive & Mesomeric Effect  (Read 30587 times)

Offline novice

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Inductive & Mesomeric Effect
« on: April 25, 2008, 12:56:32 PM »
A question regarding the Inductive & Mesomeric Effect. I am quite CONFUSED. I'm studying these effects with regards to the effect exerted by substituents on a benzene ring.

I'll start by stating what i think i understand:

Electron withdrawing group (EWG) are deactivating and eletron donating groups (EDG) are activating, makes it nice and easy to understand (what i learnt last year). However this year, they've introduced the inductive and mesomeric effect to explain why a substituent is activating or deactivating.

This is what im told as a general rule:

EDG= +I effect & +M effect = activating
EWG= -I effect & -M effect = deactivating

However, there are obviously heaps of exceptions or its wrong.

For example lets use NH2 as an example first, apparantly it is -I and +M. Why? NH2 is an EDG, so i thought it would be +I and +M?

Then for Cl, its apparantly -I, +M. Its an EWG, so i thought it would be -I, -M???

Then for CF3, its apparantly -I and no M effect. Now whys there no M effect?

Finally, then theres another story of how one effect overrides/is stronger then another effect?

Sorry for the long post, and i really appreciate any explanations in advance!!!

Thankyou!

Offline macman104

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +168/-26
Re: Inductive & Mesomeric Effect
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2008, 02:15:01 PM »
For example lets use NH2 as an example first, apparantly it is -I and +M. Why? NH2 is an EDG, so i thought it would be +I and +M?
NH2 is -I because nitrogen is more electronegative than carbon.  However, NH2 also has a lone pair of electrons availabel to donate into the ring.  So while there is some amount of -I going on, there is a full lone pair that can donate and resonate into the ring for a much more powerful +M effect.