March 28, 2024, 07:13:01 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: My Dilemma: Which college should I go to?  (Read 6207 times)

Offline huapua21

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
My Dilemma: Which college should I go to?
« on: August 06, 2009, 05:27:00 AM »
This is my first post so: hello everyone!

I am an undergraduate student in Southern California.  I have been accepted as a junior-level transfer student into Cal State Universtiy Northridge (CSUN) and the University of Southern California (USC) as a Chemistry major.  My interest lies with chemistry, mathematics, and physics.  Once I obtain a B.S. degree I plan to study chemistry further at a graduate school, and hopefully eventually earn a Ph.D. and go into research.

I am a first-generation college student and I am not so sure who to ask this question to.  When I talked to my Organic Chemistry instructor at a junior college about USC she simply said that USC was a good school but then mentioned that USC actually stands for the "University for Spoiled Children" since the tuition is so high.

It looks like CSUN is only about $2,100 per semester while USC runs at about $15,000 per semester.  I do not come from a wealthy family and I am a full-time student so the only way for me to pay for USC would be through grants and loans whereas one (already obtained) grant would fully cover the cost of tuition at CSUN.  For now I am leaning more toward CSUN because although it may not be considered to be as good of a school as USC, I wouldn't be under so much pressure since the tuition is so much lower and I would avoid being thousands of dollars in debt before even beginning grad school.

Considering I am a chemistry major and USC seems to be more geared toward business/medicine, would it be a waste of money to go to USC?

Will the quality of my education vary greatly depending on the school?

Would I be looked at differently by graduate schools depending on which undergraduate school I went to?