April 27, 2024, 02:19:16 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Embrittlement of stainless steel  (Read 8500 times)

Offline rooster

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Embrittlement of stainless steel
« on: June 21, 2008, 01:36:28 PM »
Hello my name is Robert and I'm NOT a chemist. My background is architectural engineering. So if my question seems amateurish, you'll know why. So here goes.

Scenario-
I've constructed a hydrogen cell using 304 grade stainless steel, encased in PVC and NaOH as an electrolyte. The cell is drawing 15A @ 6.5V.

Now, here are the questions.
1. Is the stainless steel susceptible to hydrogen embrittlement?

2. If so, how can I prevent it from happening by either pretreatment or post-treatment?

Thank you in advance
Rob

Offline eugenedakin

• Oilfield Consulting Chemist
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +88/-2
  • My desk agrees with the law of entropy
    • Personal Website
Re: Embrittlement of stainless steel
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2008, 04:36:25 PM »
Hello rooster,

I hope that I can answer your questions clearly.

1. Is stainless steel susceptible to hydrogen embrittlement?

Threre are a few assumptions that I am making with your question, so feel free to correct me if I misinterpret your question. I am assuming that you have a weak (3%) concentration of caustic soda (NaOH). Hydrogen embrittlement occurs by the movement of hydrogen into the metal. The good news is that there is a slim chance that you will get hydrogen embrittlement ... but... you are producing hydrogen. Hydrogen generation can lower the pH, neutralize the NaOH and then, hydrogen embrittlement can occur. Certain types of stainless steel can be susceptible to hydrogen embrittlement. It really depends on the type of stainless steel and the concentration of hydrogen.

2. I would need to understand your type of hydrogen generation to understand how to you are creating hydrogen, and the area for contact.

Sorry, there is no easy answer. This is a complicated question.