April 25, 2024, 06:09:03 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Isomerase in glycolysis.  (Read 19033 times)

Offline NewtoAtoms

• Mole Snacks: +8/-2
Isomerase in glycolysis.
« on: June 23, 2008, 12:03:03 AM »
Hello,

I am currently studying glycolysis and have stumbled upon isomerase. 
Can anyone explain the function of isomerase in glycolysis. Why did it rearrange glucose-6-phosphate?
What was the purpose of that?

Can anyone direct me to an internet site of explain this to me?

Would it be safe to say that if isomerase was somehow rendered nonfunctional, it would cancel or harm the output of ATP??

Thank you!!

New to biochemistry

Offline Padfoot

• Mole Snacks: +23/-2
Re: Isomerase in glycolysis.
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 04:14:52 PM »
Would it be safe to say that if isomerase was somehow rendered nonfunctional, it would cancel or harm the output of ATP??
Yes, inhibition of the enzymes involved in glycolysis is one of the ways in which glycolysis is regulated.  For example pohosphofructokinase, another enzyme in glycoylsis, is allosterically inhibited by ATP which reduces glycolysis in times when levels of ATP in the cell are already high. 

Maybe someone else can help you out with your first question.

Offline JGK

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +66/-19
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2008, 03:33:55 PM »
Saccharides come in two forms, adoses (contain an aldhyde group) and Ketoses (contain a ketone group).

The Isomerase enzyme can convert an aldose to a ketose (or a ketose to an aldose)

In glycolysis, following the initial phosphorylation of glucose phosphoglucose isomerase converts glucose-6-phosphate (an aldose) to fructose-6-phosphate ( a ketose), in order to permit the second phosphorylation by phosphofructokinase to occur at carbon 1 producing fructose 1, 6 diphosphate. Isomerase converts carbon 1 from a CHO group to CH2OH group.

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Offline victor

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
  • I'm a cat!