March 29, 2024, 04:38:11 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Difficulty In chemical seperation  (Read 7248 times)

santacruz05

Difficulty In chemical seperation
« on: April 08, 2005, 02:11:26 PM »
I'm by no means an experienced chemist, but i have some backround knowledge and schooling. Here is my problem:

I have two chemicals im trying to seperate, there boiling point, vapour pressure, density are all almost exactly the same. There only significant difference is there freezing point, but this is -25C and -40C and i've tried freezing one and straining the other, but it just turns it all to slush. Any assistance in this would be greatly appreciated.

The two chemicals are :

Pyrroline
Gamma-ButroLactone

Thanks

Garneck

Re:Difficulty In chemical seperation
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2005, 02:35:40 PM »
:-\

15 degrees is going to be a bit small difference I think. Besides that would be a tough thing to do. Have you tried extractions?

Offline Donaldson Tan

• Editor, New Asia Republic
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +261/-13
    • New Asia Republic
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2005, 03:25:21 PM »
you tried chemical seperation? one of the substance could have a very strong affinity for another compound, while the other dont.
"Say you're in a [chemical] plant and there's a snake on the floor. What are you going to do? Call a consultant? Get a meeting together to talk about which color is the snake? Employees should do one thing: walk over there and you step on the friggin� snake." - Jean-Pierre Garnier, CEO of Glaxosmithkline, June 2006

Garneck

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2005, 03:33:18 PM »
Or you could try change them into derivatives that have different boiling temperatures or cristalise in different temperatures..

santacruz05

« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2005, 04:32:30 PM »
I don't want to change them chemicals into derivatives, unless they can be changed back tho.