April 29, 2024, 08:04:42 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: environmental chemistry  (Read 20969 times)

Offline Berettagtz

• Mole Snacks: +1/-2
environmental chemistry
« on: January 31, 2008, 08:00:49 PM »
I am currently in my third year of BS in Chemistry and I think I want to pursue a graduate degree in environmental chemistry.  I can really see myself doing what environmental chemists do (field work and stuff). 
What do you guys think about this branch of chemistry?  Any environmental chemists on here?  And what are some schools that offer this program?

Thanks in advance!

Offline Alpha-Omega

• Mole Snacks: +360/-231
  • Physical Inorganic Chemist
Re: environmental chemistry
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 12:42:29 AM »
Illinois Institute of Technology and UIC have programs in Environmental Engineering.  One of my closest friends is an Environmantal Engineer and is an R&D Scientist for the Metropolitan Water District of Chicago....I will PM you with her e-mail...she would be glad to give you some direction...HShe got her B.S. in Chemistry and M.S. in Environmental Engineering...Good Luck...That area is ineresting and diverse.

Offline macman104

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +168/-26
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2008, 01:09:09 PM »
Illinois Institute of Technology
:o :o :o The first time I've ever heard someone mention IIT.  People do know it exists! *sorry for the threadjack, just could barely contain myself*

Offline Berettagtz

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2008, 05:43:39 PM »
hmm.. environmental engineering.  To me it sounds like there is not a whole lot of chemistry in that field, but that just might be me.  I will look into this further.
Thanks alpha omega.

Offline 0000000

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +6/-7
  • chemist
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2008, 05:58:15 PM »
in Europe may be 70% of all scholarships are for this branch, especially the EU funded ones
My name is Bond, Covalent Bond

Offline Berettagtz