March 28, 2024, 09:35:08 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Reduction of a Carboxylic Acid Without Standard Reagents  (Read 4385 times)

Offline neilcopes

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Reduction of a Carboxylic Acid Without Standard Reagents
« on: July 30, 2008, 03:53:44 PM »
Okay, I’ve been thinking on this one for days.  I have a carboxylic acid and I need to make a primary alcohol, but I don’t have borane (of any kind) or lithium aluminum hydride (or even sodium borohydride for that matter).  All I have are more common, less toxic reagents.  I’m guessing that this problem involves a multistep solution.  Any ideas?

Offline neilcopes

Re: Reduction of a Carboxylic Acid Without Standard Reagents
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2008, 06:05:07 PM »
By the way, I’m a biology student.  This problem concerns the production of dodecanol from lauric acid.  Dodecanol is one of the products necessary for the generation of sodium dodecyl sulfate, which is used extensively in biotechnology (and shampoo).  Alternatively, because lauric acid begins as a triglyceride (an ester), the problem could be viewed in terms of going from an ester to a primary alcohol.  However, I don’t know if that would make things simpler.  Also, since this is primarily an organic chemistry question, I assumed this problem belongs here more than in the chemical biology forum.

Offline macman104

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +168/-26
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2008, 06:20:01 PM »