March 28, 2024, 12:56:35 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Grapefruit Acidity  (Read 9048 times)

indi_girl18

Grapefruit Acidity
« on: March 29, 2005, 08:51:09 PM »
First of all, I am new at this whole forum thing, so hopefully I am doing this right.

Second of all, I am doing this research project for my homeschool chemistry course, and I am having a difficult time determining how this certain chemical equations reacts.

The chemical equation begins with C6H8O7 + NaOH.  Now I have tried determining how this reacts, however, I always end up either making up a chemical that doesn't exist or I either don't have enough of a certain element or there is an element left out.

What I have so far is C6H8O7 + NaOH -> C6H6 + H2O + NaOH.  I know this isn't correct because is shows that my base did not react. The second thing that is wrong is that I do not have enough O's in the chemical equation.

Please tell me what I am doing wrong. I need some help. I hope I gave all the necessary information needed for help.

Thank you

Offline hmx9123

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +59/-18
Re:Grapefruit Acidity
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2005, 02:05:49 AM »
Sorry folks, I totally messed up the splitting of this post from another.  Below are what follows the replies to this topic.
  --hmx9123

Mitch:  What do bases like to do?

indi_girl18: Well, in my experiment, I am trying to determine the acidity of a grapefruit.  So in my titration, I have to add an indicator.  My indicator is phenolphtheleln solution.  In the experiment, after adding my indicator, the base will change the color of my solution thus helping me determine the acidity of my grapefruit.

AWK:  Citric acid (tricarboxylic acid) has formula C6H8O7. It can react with up to 3 molecules of NaOH.

indi_girl18:  I'm confused when you say it can react up to three molecules of NaOH.  What do you mean?

Mitch:  What do bases like to do?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2005, 02:53:29 AM by hmx9123 »

Offline AWK