April 16, 2024, 03:00:59 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Choosing a solvent  (Read 5337 times)

Offline nj_bartel

• Mole Snacks: +76/-42
Choosing a solvent
« on: August 29, 2008, 01:34:34 AM »
I was planning on running a Bayliss-Hillman with benzaldehyde, methyl cinnamate, and an imidazole compound catalyst.  Would 3-pentanone work as a solvent or would it compete with the methyl cinnamate in reacting with the imidazole compound?  Any solvent recommendations?

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: Choosing a solvent
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 07:49:52 AM »
I was planning on running a Bayliss-Hillman with benzaldehyde, methyl cinnamate, and an imidazole compound catalyst. 

Any specific reason you are using imidazole? I'm not an expert on these reactions but I was under the impression that DABCO, DMAP and DBU are the most common.

Would 3-pentanone work as a solvent or would it compete with the methyl cinnamate in reacting with the imidazole compound? 

The (initial) reaction of the methyl cinnamate with the base would be a conjugate addition, forming an enolate. Since pentan-3-one is not alpha,beta-unsaturated I don't think this will be a problem.
However, pentan-3-one could, I expect, act as an electrophile and accept the cinnamate enolate. Since it is a solvent and in massive excess, I suspect this will be a major complication ie. it will compete with the benzaldehyde.

Any solvent recommendations?

What does the literature recommend? I don't know, I haven't looked into this reaction in detail, but if you're going to do it in the lab then you probably should read some papers first. I'd suggest a solvent that is not electrophilic or acidic and dissolves your reagents. THF, 1,4-dioxane, DCM, Chloroform, methanol, other alcohols? Perhaps you could even use benzaldehyde as your solvent (although it is a bit of a pain to get rid of)?
My research: Google Scholar and Researchgate