April 29, 2024, 06:25:05 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Most Usefull Undergraduate Non-Engineering Coursework  (Read 5193 times)

Offline robbondo

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Most Usefull Undergraduate Non-Engineering Coursework
« on: September 13, 2008, 01:13:56 PM »
Hello, first post on this board...  I am registering for Fall courses at my University and due to prerequisites and schedule conflicts I will only be able to register for two chemical engineering courses this quarter.  Since to maintain being a full time student I must take another course and I have no more humanities classes required I'm planning on taking either a math, computer science, or chemistry.  A little background, I have taken two quarters of C++ and there is one more quarter required before I can start taking upper division CS classes.  I have taken all the basic engineering required math + linear algebra which isn't required at my school, I'm thinking next quarter of taking either numerical methods or an upper division linear diff eq course(already taken lower division diff eq.) and my third option is taking P-chem which isn't required by my school either.  I plan on majoring in chemical engineering with a nanotechnology option and hopefully going to a decent grad school for material science.  Any recommendations?

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
Re: Most Usefull Undergraduate Non-Engineering Coursework
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2008, 03:18:34 PM »
P-Chem s not required by your school for a Chemical Engineering degree? That just blows my mind!
If it is an elective you can take, I highly recommend it!

Also, if you are interested in materials science I would look into the Physics department and see if they offers a Solid State Physics elective and/or if the Chemistry department offers a Solid State Chemistry elective.