April 26, 2024, 10:32:25 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: [HELP] oil become solid  (Read 11729 times)

Offline jazzcoutique

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
[HELP] oil become solid
« on: September 22, 2008, 11:44:49 AM »
hi guys need help a little, newbie here so if i'm not in the correct forum, i'm sorry,

here the question, i have some coconut oil, and i put in the refrigerator temperature (5 degree Celcius), and the Oil become like solid (like toufu things) so i need help, if there any compotation or ingridient or way, to maintain the oil not become solid, and stay became liquid, even i put in refrigerator temperature (5 degree),

PLzz help.. from anybody here thx

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: [HELP] oil become solid
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2008, 12:09:08 PM »
Heat it back to the room temp. Once you add something it will be no longer coconut oil.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2008, 12:14:32 PM »
This isn't really an analytical question, but really more of a citizen chemist question, but that's a pretty fine point, we don't mind too much.

At any rate, whenever you dissolve anything in something, you lower it's freezeing point, that's called colligative properties {wiki link}, so adding a little oil of another type will keep it fluid at fridge temp, if you can't just warm it up, like Borek said.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline jazzcoutique

« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2008, 12:53:26 PM »
the thing is, i want the oil still be at liquid condition even if i put it in the refrigerator (5 degree C),