April 25, 2024, 12:52:47 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Reaction between bicuculline methiodide and 3-thiolpropanoic acid?  (Read 3369 times)

Offline october

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0

Hi guys, I'm not a chemist. I'm a researcher in a neurobiology lab.

I'm currently working on a project attempting to both block GABA synthesis and antagonize the GABA receptor simultaneously. I've been working with bicuculline methiodide and 3-thiolpropanoic acid individually in their own saline solutions, and I've just started a new experiment combining low doses of both simultaneously. But it dawned on me today the 3-thiolpropanoic acid might accelerate the decomposition of bicuculline, or there might be a reaction.

I don't have access to an analytical chemistry toys, otherwise I would just run a before and after to note changes.

The concentrations I'm working with are 100uM BMI and 1000uM 3-MPA in a single solution.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bicuculline
http://webbook.nist.gov/cgi/cbook.cgi?ID=107-96-0&Units=SI

I tried dragging out some old chem books and working this out on paper, but that proved to be waste of time.

Thanks for any insight!

Offline nj_bartel

• Mole Snacks: +76/-42
Re: Reaction between bicuculline methiodide and 3-thiolpropanoic acid?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2008, 05:15:51 PM »
Just a quick look leads me to think maybe just an acid-base reaction.  You have several basic sites in your bicuculline (all the oxygens and your nitrogen) and you've got a pretty decent strength acid in your thiolpropanoic acid (the carboxylic acid group in particular, and to a lesser extent the thiol goup)

Offline october

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2008, 05:50:27 PM »

Any speculation as to what the products might be?

Also, might I be able to make better use of these together in a phosphate buffered saline (pH 7.4)?

You know what? Since I have no idea what the pka of 3-MPA is, I'm going to test the pH of my solution right now.

Be back in 10-20 minutes.