March 29, 2024, 02:50:35 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Chemical engineering vs biochemical engineering  (Read 7250 times)

Offline physstudent1

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Chemical engineering vs biochemical engineering
« on: December 06, 2008, 11:07:24 PM »
So, at my university the chemical and biochemical engineering tracks don't split ways until after sophomore year, so being as I am a sophomore I am going to have to decide soon if I want to just do chemical engineering or if I want to do biochemical engineering and I have a few questions.  I'm not sure if this is the right forum so I'm sorry if it isn't.  Can people with a biochemical degree usually get chemical engineering jobs or is it harder for a biochemical engineer to get a chemical engineering job and vice versa?  What are the salary differences usually?  Is it harder in general to find a job with a biochemical engineer degree than a chemical engineer degree?  I looked for these answers on the internet but I could not find answers.  I am slightly more interested in jobs that are typically classified as "biochemical engineering" but I am also interested in working in the petroleum or fuel industry.  I think I may want to go toward research and probably grad school after I get my BS.  I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum, or if this question is really long I just don't know who else to ask and am looking for information thanks!

Offline Gerard

• Mole Snacks: +13/-13
  • "pressure makes diamond"
Re: Chemical engineering vs biochemical engineering
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2008, 05:50:21 AM »