April 25, 2024, 04:06:58 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Urethane & Epoxy Coatings in Cold Weather  (Read 10544 times)

Offline jimmo

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Urethane & Epoxy Coatings in Cold Weather
« on: December 31, 2008, 04:19:24 PM »
Hey guys, I'm trying to clear up something regarding 2k urethane and/or epoxy coatings. According to PPG, they claim that if you allow these products to drop below 60 degrees that the crosslinking process is interrupted and will never reinitiate. I've spoke with a chemist whom claimed that it is inacurate and once these types of products are brought back to a warmer temperature it will resume...even that the urethane products continue to cure in lower temperatures. I work as an automotive painter and am attempting to get a better understanding of the chemistry behind the products, so I apologize if this question sounds dumb. Any insight is appreciated.

Offline Mr Peanut

• Mole Snacks: +5/-3
Re: Urethane & Epoxy Coatings in Cold Weather
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2008, 07:34:48 PM »
For urethane pre-polymers the cross linking reaction usually involves isocyanate-polyol reactions. Ordinarily, this process will slow when cold and resume when warmed. However, the isocyanate functionality also reacts with water. Cooling the system may allow these unwanted, competing reactions to prevail.

Urethane cross linking reactions may not necessarily involve the standard isocyanate-polyol chemistry described above. It is conceivable that a pre-polymer could be used which also has functionality not typically associated with "vanilla" urethane technology. For example, some “sporty” urethane pre-polymers have built in UV, e-beam, or free radical initiated polymerization functionalities (usually acrylic, sometimes vinyl). These specialized systems might loose their "activity", say through destruction of an initiator by the environment while in cold state where the activation energy for the wanted reaction is absent.