April 24, 2024, 10:37:44 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Tobacco Extractions  (Read 6752 times)

Offline hummingbird

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Tobacco Extractions
« on: September 13, 2011, 11:24:23 PM »
Hello.  I am no chemist.  I am an enthusiast of gardening, mainly nicotiana (ornamental tobacco) and medicinal uses of plants. I am not an expert and seek knowledge only as a hobby.

Recently I have learned that uncured tobacco contains compounds called cembranoids and that these may have significant medical uses.

http://www.ulm.edu/universityrelations/news/july11/anticancer.html
http://www.iupac.org/publications/pac/pdf/1990/pdf/6207x1353.pdf

What I am curious about is how to isolate these compounds, in as practical way as possible, without extracting nicotine.  I have heard that most of the nicotine is contained in the leaf especially the upper leaves, but the flower calyxes are the most resinous parts of the plant (and thus more desired for extraction).  Since nicotine is water soluble I imagine that soaking the material in water for a time to remove nicotine and then doing an alcohol extraction would work.  I don't think that would be enough though and I know full well the dangers of nicotine.  :o

I have seen some health shops online that sell denicotinized tobacco essences.  Does anyone know if these might contain the compounds I'm curious about?  In the articles I linked above it is stated that the cembranoids are lost in the curing process and I'd imagine that the extracts sold online would be of cured tobacco (since uncured tobacco doesn't smell at all pleasant like cured does, and that's kind of the point of the extract).  If no one here can help.  I guess I'll go ask an herbalist or something. If it involves a lot of big chemistry and lab equipment then I'll leave it to the professionals (actually I'm not really going to do it at all  ::)). I would appreciate any input.  Thanks.