April 24, 2024, 06:15:47 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Identify compound Z, produced by the following sequence.  (Read 5270 times)

Offline NewtoAtoms

• Mole Snacks: +8/-2
Identify compound Z, produced by the following sequence.
« on: January 25, 2009, 01:39:59 PM »
I am studying my notes and have begun trying to do my own examples of reactions to stay ontop of organic chemistry.

I have proposed the following questions and am wondering if anyone could proof read my logic.

1-cyclohexane-butane ---Br2 + heat----> X ---NaOCH2CH3 +heat/ethanol ---> Y ---HBr + peroxides ---> Z

My logic and leg work has brought me to the following conclusions:

H H  H H                                                                    H H H  H
X= (cyclohexane) ---C-C-C-C H                   OR                  (cyclohexane) ---C-C-C-C H
                             H Br H H                                                                    H H Br H

THE REASON i HAVEN'T ATTACHED Br anyone where else, is because Br is extremely regioselective so I would propose that it would only add to those two spots (place where there are secondary carbons)

H H  H H                                                                   H H  H  H
Y= (cyclohexane) ---C-C=C-C H                  OR                 (cyclohexane)  ---C-C=C-C H
                             H        H                                                                   H        H

Which obviously brings us to the same outcome for the double bond

Z = (cyclehexane) ---CH2CH2CHCH3
                                         l
                                         Br
The reason I have added the Br to this carbon is because it is anti-Markovnikov's therefore it would prefer to go on that carbon rather than the one previous.

I must admit I am feeling totally overwhelmed with this chapter in organic chemistry and I would be SO GRATEFUL if you could just walk through this example and help me understand it.