April 20, 2024, 07:57:08 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Lead nitrate  (Read 19153 times)

Offline malteser16

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Lead nitrate
« on: January 27, 2009, 11:11:28 AM »
Hello,

I need some help to try to make lead nitrate please. I know it is done by mixing lead metal with nitric acid, but how do I calculate the proportions of each that I need to use?

the chemical formula is;

Pb + 2HNO3  :rarrow: Pb(NO3)2 + 1/2 O2 + NO2

is it correct?

ok so I would need;

207g Pb for 126g HNO3 am I correct?

now I was wondering....the above calculation is for 100% nitric acid but store bought nitric acid comes 65%, so how do I calculate the amount needed for the Lead Nitrate reaction using 65% nitric acid?

sorry if this is a childish question, but I'm new at chemistry. Thanks for all your *delete me*.

Offline Donaldson Tan

• Editor, New Asia Republic
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +261/-13
    • New Asia Republic
Re: Lead nitrate
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2009, 11:32:22 AM »
Lead plus Nitric Acid is a bad way to make lead (II) nitrate because the lab procedure involves toxic fumes.

An alternative method to make lead (II) nitrate is mixing lead (II) oxide with nitric acid.

PbO (s) + 2 HNO3 (aq) -> Pb(NO3)2 (aq) + H2O (l)
"Say you're in a [chemical] plant and there's a snake on the floor. What are you going to do? Call a consultant? Get a meeting together to talk about which color is the snake? Employees should do one thing: walk over there and you step on the friggin� snake." - Jean-Pierre Garnier, CEO of Glaxosmithkline, June 2006

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2009, 12:09:15 PM »