April 28, 2024, 05:32:31 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What degree?  (Read 6784 times)

Offline chrisbb

• Mole Snacks: +4/-2
What degree?
« on: February 07, 2009, 10:53:57 AM »
Hi all.
I graduate in May, if all things go to plan :) I'll graduate as a Chem Lab tech. I applied to 2 universites in Canada. Both for a 3rd Chem. Degree (BSc Chem).

I heard back from one yesterday, but they're offering me a general science degree.
Would you recommend that I try and get into the Chem dgree (no matter the uni) or accept the offer for the general science degree?

Thanks.
Chris

Offline LQ43

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +32/-9
Re: What degree?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2009, 10:19:47 PM »
Can you tell us where your Chem Lab degree is from or what Canadian universities you applied to?

Its been awhile but when I graduated from Canadian universities, I know many of the major ones will have B.Sc. Chem programs and with your background I would imagine that you could probably jump in at the 3rd year level or so. I'm not sure why a university would only offer you a general science degree, most require you to declare a major in your second year. Please explain if I'm misunderstanding your situation or question.

Offline chrisbb

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 10:46:31 PM »
hi hi.
The Chem. lab is a diploma from St. Clair college in windsor ON.

The 2 uni's I applied to are, Windsor and Lakehead. Lakehead uni gave me a conditional acceptance into the general science degree (not sure yet as I'm waiting on info thru the mail).

I did apply for the transfer into the 2nd yr of the Chem. Degree, but I don't know if they're accepting me yet. Thats when they offered me the gen. science degree.. I guess thats all lol.

Offline LQ43

• Chemist
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2009, 11:40:27 PM »