April 28, 2024, 06:26:05 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Need Help with Evaporating  (Read 6917 times)

Offline Fresco

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Need Help with Evaporating
« on: February 09, 2009, 12:16:39 PM »
Hello everyone,
I have a very simple question, I'm a novice so hopefully I dont bore you with what I ask:

I have dissolved a herbal powder in a water/ethanol liquid.  Its about 5 grams of herb powder in about 100 ml of 50/50 v/v ethanol and H2O.  I used Vodka instead of having to go through the hassle of having to buy ethyl alcohol.

Now I want to evaporate the alcohol so as to leave just mostly H2O.
The easy way of course is to boil it at about 80C, this will get rid of most alcohol.

But my question is there another way to remove the ethanol from the water without evaporating??

Offline nj_bartel

• Mole Snacks: +76/-42
Re: Need Help with Evaporating
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 06:32:20 PM »
Pretty sure that'd be the easiest way by far.

Offline Fresco

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2009, 10:07:07 AM »
What about a centrifuge???

Offline nj_bartel

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2009, 01:42:10 PM »
I could be wrong, but I don't believe centrifuging works with 2 completely solvated substances.

Offline Fleaker

• Mole Snacks: +11/-0
  • Synthetic Chemist
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2009, 02:34:43 PM »
It does not. Centrifuging in the sense we speak of here will only work between two different phases, each having a different density.
Ethanol and water are fully miscible.

Are you familiar with azeotropes? Ethanol and water form a minimum boiling azeotope. This means that no matter how many times you evaporate off the alcohol (distillation) you will never remove all of the water contaminate. The water must be removed through another physical process (or even chemical process, CaO is used for removing water from azeotropic EtOH).