April 16, 2024, 01:48:28 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: wet ESP  (Read 5946 times)

Offline kanankiri

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
wet ESP
« on: February 20, 2009, 11:00:00 PM »
hi all.

Would like to ask of why people use water to flush the collected PM out of collection plate in a wet ESP? As far as I know, the water will cause some sparks or even fire when you pour it out on a high voltage metal object.

I'm currently designing gas clean-up system for fluidized gasification plant. Wet ESP is favored because our treated PM is kind of sticky (i.e. tar). I'm no expert in electrical, but I still think that water will explode when we add water on the high voltage collection plate.

Already check on couple of books and pdfs on the net. They all said that water is really put in contact with collection plate by flushing out, not just used only for draining PM out of ESP after being hammered down by rapper which is the case for dry ESP.

Please help me if somebody know or familiar with this.

thanks

regards,
bernath

Offline kanankiri

Re: wet ESP
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2009, 08:54:03 PM »
Dear All,

Is there anyone who can help me to answer above question or know someone who might be able to deliver the answer?

I've searched and raised question across 3 Chem-Eng forums and still not get anything yet.

Plz help guyz...

regards,
bernath

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2009, 08:57:14 PM »
Sorry, but I'm not an engineer.  Maybe some of the newer engineers, or other scientists, on this board will be able to help, if you drop the jargon and identify your abbreviations.  PM?  ESP? Wet?  Hammer?
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline kanankiri

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2009, 04:05:45 AM »
Sorry guys,