April 23, 2024, 08:23:38 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: pH of salts, molar mass, reaction rate  (Read 9153 times)

FuturePharm.D.

pH of salts, molar mass, reaction rate
« on: May 10, 2005, 04:27:57 AM »
Hi everybody.  This is my first post here.  I'm studying for finals using previous exams.  I found three questions I don't understand why the given answer is correct.  I would appreciate some explanation as to why the answer is correct.

Thank you,
FuturePharm.D.

Question 1:

NH3, Kb = 1.8X10^-10

HCLO, Ka = 3.2X10^-8

HOAc, Ka = 1.8X10^-5

HCN, Ka = 4.0X10^-10

Given the above information arrange the following salts in the order of their increasing pH:

a) NH4NO3 < NaOAc < NaCN < HCLO

b) NH4NO3 < NaOAc < NaClO < NaCN

c) HClO < NH4NO3 < NaOAc < NaCN

d) NaCN < NaOAc < HClO < NH4NO3

e) NaOAc < NaCN < NH4NO3 < HClO

The correct answer is:  

b) H4NO3<NaOAc<NaCN<NaCN

Why?

Question #2:

2.  A solution containing 5.60g of a solute in 100g of benzene produced a freezing point of 4.35 degrees celsius.  Calculate the molar mass of the solute.  (Benzene: F.P. = 5.45 degrees celsius, and kf = 5.07 degrees celsius/molal)

a) 124g/mol

b) 352g/mol

c) 98.0g/mol

d) 51.6g/mol

e) 258g/mol

The answer is e) 258g/mol

Here's what I did:

molal = delta T/Kf = 1.1/5.07 = .216 molal

(5.6g/.1kg)(.216mols/1kg)(1000kg/g)

This obviously isn't correct.  Could someone please show me the way?

Last one:

In the following reaction, the rate at which O2 reacts is .50 mols/L/s.

4NH3 + 7O2 ----> 4NO2 + 6H2O

The overall rate of this reaction is:

a) 2.0 moles/L/s

b) 0.071 moles/L/s

c) 3.5 moles/L/s

d) 0.13 moles/L/s

e) 0.083 moles/L/s

I know the answer is b) 0.071  and I know it's 0.50/7.  But why?  Is it because there are more mols of oxygen than any other product and that determines the overall rate?  Why do you divide and not multiply?

Thanks again,
FuturePharm.D.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410