BS   chemical physics
PhD chemical engineering or metals and materials engineering

Offline Jiro

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +7/-5
  • Faith.
Re:career path
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2005, 02:04:28 AM »
Assuming you can transfer to a Chemical Engineering phd program with some kind of chemistry major I think I've decided to do that... for now... However after reading this I am not so sure:

"I have a PhD in Chemical Engineering.  My advice, based on my experience, at least for Chemical Engineering, is ABSOLUTELY POSITIVELY DO NOT GET A PhD IN ENGINERING.  You would probably be better off doing something, anything, really anything else.  DO NOT GET A PhD IN ENGINEERING!  The number of PhDs massively, grossly, drastically exceeds the number of PhD level jobs, with the remote possible exception of postdoc positions, which suck.  Long hours for work that pays less than the janitorial staff on a per hour basis.  Give up on academia.  Any open position for a tenured job gets hundreds of resumes from people with years of postdoc experience.  It gets worse, at least in the oil and chemical industry, a PhD makes you over qualified for jobs that do not require a PhD, and they don't have any PhD jobs open.  I now work as an IT consultant.  Even with all the screaming about how IT now sucks as a job, it is still better than Chemical Engineering.   At least jobs better than a postdoc exist in IT.

Paul"

Offline Donaldson Tan

• Editor, New Asia Republic
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +261/-13
    • New Asia Republic
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2005, 03:19:49 AM »
LOL. If you read the TCE (IChemE) forums, you will be even more depressed about the chemical industry overall, because it isnt actively recruiting anyone, not even chemical engineers. Alot of graduates from my chemical engineering department joined the lucrative financial sector as soon as they graduate.