April 20, 2024, 11:56:58 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How did I blow up my reflux condenser?  (Read 26078 times)

Offline newbiedummy

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
How did I blow up my reflux condenser?
« on: April 04, 2009, 01:46:14 AM »
I am brand new to chemistry. I recently bought some glassware and books to experiment with. Tonight I decided to test out my hotplate and reflux condenser to make sure I understood how everything worked. So I filled up a 1000ml Erlenmayer flask with about 800ml of tap water and placed it on my hotplate. I then took my 300m coil reflux condenser and connected it to the flask at the 24/40 joints that they both have. I also capped the top of the condenser with a 24/40 glass stopper so that the whole thing was self-contained and then I attached clamps at the joints. I then hooked the hoses to the reflux condenser and started the cold water flowing through the coil from the bottom. Then I turned on my hotplate.