March 28, 2024, 08:49:34 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: thermodynamic - gaz - henry's law & open system  (Read 8136 times)

shrx

thermodynamic - gaz - henry's law & open system
« on: February 16, 2005, 04:43:26 AM »
Hello,

I am a organic chemist (PhD) and my thermodynamics is not what it used to be 10 years ago...

So here is my problem (modelized from an actual issue):

initial state : I have a small (1ml) container with water and dissolved air at room temperature and atmospheric pressure.
intermediate state : the container is closed, with no bubbles and put under pressure (say 10 atm).
final state  : assuming there is little capillary leaks and no mass loss, how can I explain theoretically the large augmentation of dissolved air ? I known the henry's law but how can I explain that more atmospheric air is dissolved in a recipient which is under a much higher pressure???

shrx

Offline eugenedakin

• Oilfield Consulting Chemist
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +88/-2
  • My desk agrees with the law of entropy
    • Personal Website
Re:thermodynamic - gaz - henry's law & open system
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2005, 01:34:51 AM »
Hello Dr. shrx,

Thats a great question.  I had to dig out some of my old books to remind me of the answer.  Lets use the example of the equilibrium of dissolved oxygen and oxygen gas is O2(aq)<-->O2(g).  The equilibrium constant is K = p(O2)/c(O2). The concentration of dissolved oxygen is directly proportional to the partial pressure of oxygen.  Since K is a constant, increasing the pressure proportionally increases the concentration of dissolved oxygen.

A general method of explaining this to a student might be:  Added pressure increases the energy available to the gaseous oxygen.  This added energy is used to dissolve more oxygen into the liquid.

I hope this helps,

Eugene Dakin Ph.D., P.Chem.
There are 10 kinds of people in this world: Those who understand binary, and those that do not.

Offline ksr985

• Chemist