April 27, 2024, 10:19:43 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Titanium riddle  (Read 8186 times)

Offline woelen

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +40/-2
  • The art of wondering makes life worth living...
    • Science made alive
Titanium riddle
« on: May 18, 2005, 05:49:50 PM »
Hello,

This is my first post to chemicalforums.

I'm a hobby chemist, and one experiment really puzzles me. I dissolved some titanium metal in hydrochloric acid and that gives a blue/purple titanium (III) solution. This dissolving of titanium metal is very slow, even in conc. HCl.

In order to speed up the process I tried dissolving the metal in a solution, containing some HF. I read that with some HF in the solution the metal dissolves much faster. Indeed, the metal dissolves MUCH faster, even with only 10% HCl.
However, to my surprise, a green liquid is obtained instead of a purple liquid and that was NOT mentioned in the text on dissolving titanium metal. On partial oxidation of this green compound, a brown compound is formed (I think it is a mixed valence titanium III/IV complex). On complete oxidation a colorless solution is obtained, most likely a colorless titanium (IV) complex.

I googled around quite a lot, trying to find more info on this reaction. The only thing I could find is mention of a very stable titanium (IV) complex, TiF6(2-), which however is colorless.

The complete experiment and questions are given at the URL below.

http://www.woelen.nl/chem/Ti+F/Ti+F.htm

I already posted the same question to google groups sci.chem and I had a lot of replies, but not an answer to my question.

I ask this question here, just out of curiousity.

If anyone has a clue, I would be pleased to read about that.