April 29, 2024, 08:49:26 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Structure determination  (Read 4246 times)

Offline c0ok1e

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Structure determination
« on: April 28, 2009, 02:58:07 AM »
Hi

Im new to the field of organic chemistry. I am doing research on the isolation and determination of an unknown compound. I would like to ask what are the steps required to determine the structure of an unknown compound? I know that I will need to use 2D NMR. Is 2D NMR the only tool that I will need to determine the structure or is there a flow of process that I need to follow to fully determine its structure? JUst a general flow chart of what I need to dtermine structure will do. No need for detail as I will read up on the detail.

Thanks

Offline sanderol

• Mole Snacks: +2/-1
Re: Structure determination
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2009, 08:15:58 AM »
Obtaining a crystal structure by X-ray is enough to determine your structure. NMR usually is not enough, you probably need more data. Like Mass stuff like that.

Gl with reading, cause these things you dont learn overnight  ;). But we're willing to help.

Offline c0ok1e

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2009, 10:53:09 PM »
I dont think I will be using X ray crystallography because my compound is a low molecular weight compound less than 1k Da. X ray can only be used on higher molecula weight compound like protein right?
Then is it ok if after I isolate the compound then run mas spectrometry then 2d NMR to determine the stucture?
No need to use UV something right?

From what I have read this is what I learn. Correct me if im wrong please:
NMR: to determine framework of the structure through C and H bond
MS: to determine molecular mass of compound
UV something: to determine the absorption wavelength of compound

then there are still other stuff which i dont really know what they do like IR or something like dat