April 20, 2024, 04:08:22 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Hydrogens and Alkenes  (Read 7454 times)

Offline kylatee

• Mole Snacks: +1/-1
Hydrogens and Alkenes
« on: May 10, 2009, 10:06:17 PM »
So I just started studying organic chemistry as a part of my general chemistry nursing class, and I understand the basics of it, but what i don't understand is how to numbers on the Hydrogen atoms are rearranged.

For example:

in propene its : CH2 = CH2 and 1-Pentene its CH2=CH2 - CH2- CH2- CH3, why isn't CH3 first? or why isn't there another CH3 and then just 2 CHs? i understand how the total number of hydrogens are obtained, but how they are placed is mind boggling to me.

Any comments?

Offline kylatee

Re: Hydrogens and Alkenes
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2009, 10:57:00 PM »
I'm guessing that's a no to any comments.. :'(

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2009, 11:45:54 PM »
Ugh.  Sometimes it takes more than 50 minutes for people to come up with answers. Especially on Sunday, in summer time.

OK.

So I just started studying organic chemistry as a part of my general chemistry nursing class, and I understand the basics of it, but what i don't understand is how to numbers on the Hydrogen atoms are rearranged.

in propene its : CH2 = CH2 and 1-Pentene its CH2=CH2 - CH2- CH2- CH3, why isn't CH3 first? or why isn't there another CH3 and then just 2 CHs? i understand how the total number of hydrogens are obtained, but how they are placed is mind boggling to me.

Hrm.  Can you draw out, what you're thinking it could also be, and see if there's anything wrong with your proposed structures?
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline kylatee

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2009, 01:05:47 AM »