April 27, 2024, 06:24:30 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: I need a genuis to help: osomolarity  (Read 6451 times)

Offline pharma

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
I need a genuis to help: osomolarity
« on: May 21, 2009, 10:51:16 PM »
I am a QC analyst who works in pharma industry and we use to prepare Ringer lactate solution (which is an intravenous solution) that should have an osomolarity value of 278 mOSM/L, we have been doing that for the last two years and we never had any problem with the assay analysis or the osomolarity, but in the last week we prepared a preparation that had an osomolarity value of 300 mOSM/L although the assay for all the components were within range and within the historical trend. we concluded that the increase of osomolarity is due to an addition of some material by mistake or somthing related to the water used for prepration, when we checked the records we found that the materials were added exactly and that there was no problem with water as indicated by the conductivity value which was less than 1.0 microsemins during water filling. We have been trying to understand what happened but we could not find a solution, any body has any suggestions????

BTW, the materials used for preparation of Ringer is
1) NaCl.
2) Potasuim chloride.
3) Calcium chloride.
4) Soduim lactate.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: I need a genuis to help: osomolarity
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2009, 02:54:55 AM »
I don't think anybody will be able to help here - I mean, there are so many possible sources of mistake that it is impossible to rule them out sitting 5000 km from you ;)

First of all - try to prepare another solution, check if it is OK. Could be it was just a human error, if so, new solution should be OK.

If the problem persist you have no choice but to check if all solutions used follow specifications.