April 28, 2024, 06:09:26 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Reaction of Vanadium & Sulphur in HFO  (Read 7238 times)

Offline Aqualectra

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Reaction of Vanadium & Sulphur in HFO
« on: July 03, 2009, 11:28:41 AM »
Dear readers,

I work as a Mechanical Engineer at a diesel powerplant and we are confronting some problems with excessive wear of Fuel pump plungers.
Several tests has been done to the FUEL Oil and everything came positive according to the Fuel specs.
Looking at the system itself I became interested in the Chemical Reaction of some components in fuel which cannot be affected by the separator.

These components are MCR, Sulphur, Vanadium, Asphaltenes, Nickel, CCAI,Viscosity and Density.
Since the problem concentrates in the Fuel Pump the viscosity of HFO must be 16mm2/s
at approx 122degrees.

I want to know at temperatures between 122 and 130degrees if there is another chemical reaction taking place between Vanadium, Sulphur, Asphaltenes and Nickel in severe way that it could affect the Fuel Pump Plunger.( compress of Fuel)

Some thought I have by means of chemical reaction:
-A lowering in melting point (Flashpoint)
-Chemical reaction which could work the same as Cat Fines which obviously is unwanted in mechanical driving components. Therefore they are separated from the Fuel Oil in the separator

I hope anyone can explain if there is such a reaction taking place or not.
Thanks before hand.

Offline eugenedakin

• Oilfield Consulting Chemist
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +88/-2
  • My desk agrees with the law of entropy
    • Personal Website
Re: Reaction of Vanadium & Sulphur in HFO
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2009, 09:31:01 PM »
Hello Aqualectra,