April 19, 2024, 09:54:21 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Plastisol Paint materials help  (Read 14688 times)

Offline Yannuit

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Plastisol Paint materials help
« on: October 23, 2008, 02:11:42 AM »
Ok hello, this is my first post. Nice to meet everyone.
I am an artist, not really much of a chemist, so if I sound like I dont know what I am talking about, it is because I really dont. I do, however want to know what I am talking about so I am hoping that maybe you all can help me with that.
I've always tried to learn as much as I can about the make-up of the materials I use in my painting and most of the paints I use I make myself. 
So anyway there is a type of paint called Genesis Heat Setting paint which I like alot. I have been buying the "thick medium" from the company that makes them and have just been mixing it with pigments to make paints. This has givn me good results so far but I have wanted to know how it is made and perhaps, if I could, learn to make it myself. So I searched up the patent number on the jar or thick medium I bought. Just to be sure, is it okay to put the patent number in this post? Just wanna make sure theres no problem with it.

In the patent it says that it is based on the same concept as Plastisol inks, which I read are basically PVC with plasticizer and pigment (is this correct?). The Genesis medium is not made with PVC but with polyalkylmethacrylate resin (hope thats right) and plasticizer, which gives a more buttery consistency than PVC.

As far as I can tell by reading the examples written about in the patent the paint is made by making two mixtures. The first is pigment mixed with diisononyl phthalate plasticizer or Kodak dioctyl phthalate plasticizer. The second is what they call Rohm Tech M914 which is a acrylic polymer based on polymethacrylate or Rohm Tech 4899F which is an acrylic copolymer based on methylmethacrylate and plasticizer dioctylphthalate.