April 28, 2024, 11:28:40 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: physical/mathematical basis for deterministic reaction rate equation  (Read 8087 times)

Offline Excoriate

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi,

I do not claim to be much of a chemist but instead I have an MSc. in Computational Biology. The question I have is whether there is a deeper basis physical basis for reaction rate equations perhaps justified in terms of some sort of (classical/quantum) mechanical laws. I guess I am basically curious about how much we know about bond formation be it ionic or covalent in nature.

Thanks in advance.

Offline renge ishyo

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +67/-14
Re: physical/mathematical basis for deterministic reaction rate equation
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2009, 01:23:31 PM »
Yes, there is a deeper mathematical basis for the theory of reaction rates in chemical reactions. In fact, Chemical Kinetics is an entire discipline in and of itself, and a very challenging one I might add.

The main line to start with are the Arrhenius equations. You can at least see what they are from the wiki:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arrhenius_equation

A deeper understanding of these equations can be had when you see them derived from statistical mechanics. Statistical mechanics is a very hard subject to study; its accomplishment is that it provides for a molecular description of thermodynamic and kinetic systems and equations. The phenomenon of reaction rates cannot be understood from the behavior of a single molecule as it is more a phenomenon related to statistics and populations of molecules with different bond characteristics (hence, why the reaction rate depends on the concentration of species and not the individual nature of species).

Offline Excoriate

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2009, 02:39:10 PM »